Archive for December, 2014

cockpit hatches goes dolphins

Friday, December 26th, 2014

In the cockpit there is three hatches, in to the storage space underneath. They needed to be replaced, so goodbye old hatches, hello new hatches! The hinges and screws are in brass. I wanted to go for a dimmed gray/blue colour but failed horribly and ended up whit a desperate mediterranean look, the spray can is even called dolphins. After having to redo them twice, it’s finally done.

old hatchesnewhatches

IMG_20141208_154407luckor2

paper sea charts!

Tuesday, December 16th, 2014

Today I got a 55kg of sea charts! It covers a big part of my route and are a mix of different brands and from different times. Maybe not the most useful thing, but definitely fun, and can come in handy, I guess.

charts1 charts3

 

inspiration

Saturday, December 6th, 2014

I had a boat before, whit some friends, a small finmar sailor 20. It was a lot of fun and afterwords it made me think a lot about getting a bigger one, or rather one more seaworthy.

finmar20books

I also read some books and saw a move called hold fast.

 

fixing that boat

Saturday, December 6th, 2014

I was felling lonely and bought I got a boat to keep me company. Together we dream about small islands and big sperm whales. This is what it looks like.torrläggning

The model is called Albin Vega, and its #156 from 1968. Its known to be a very simple and cheap way of sailing off shore. My Vega was called “no stress” by the owner, two owners ago. Unfortunately its consider bad luck to rename boats, and I don’t what more of that then I already do. The previous owner was also unhappy whit it, and dispute the renaming curse, he carefully renamed it “nostres”, which means like “our” in latin. I guess I cant live whit ether of the names and are considering “No Sleep” instead.

late What I’m doing now is renovating the boat. Its in good condition, but there is still a lot of work to be done before its ready. I’m spending long days on ebay and late nights at the boatyard.

I’m always looking for cheap sailing stuff and good tips.